WPA Awards 2019

David Prescott makes good use of his classic car’s drop-top while hauling an elk mount near Hoback Junction in July. The photo was named the Wyoming Press Association’s Photo of the Year.

Jackson Hole Daily founder Mike Sellett was inducted into the Wyoming Press Association Foundation Hall of Fame on Friday, joining the ranks of some of the best newspapermen and -women in the state.

Sellett, former owner of the Jackson Hole News and then the Jackson Hole News&Guide, accepted the award after Kevin Olson, current owner and publisher, and former editor Angus Thuermer gave speeches that recounted Sellett’s impact in local journalism and the Jackson Hole community.

“You only get a great community from a great community newspaper,” Olson said at the ceremony.

The News&Guide staff was also honored with a slew of awards at the Wyoming Press Association convention, including the Hanway Plaque, an award for general excellence, and the Robert Warner Photography Award, honoring photographic excellence. It also brought home a plaque for Advertising Excellence and a second-place award for Typographic Excellence.

The paper falls into the large-weekly category, competing against publications like the Buffalo Bulletin, Cody Enterprise, Douglas Budget and Powell Tribune.

Director of Visuals Bradly J. Boner was named Photographer of the Year, an award bestowed to the best photographer among both daily and weekly publications.

Boner took first in Spot News, General News and Sports Action photography. He won second in Scenic photography, an honorable mention in Sports Action and an honorable mention for his photo story on a 4-H family.

Photographer Ryan Dorgan won first in Feature photography as well as an honorable mention; first and second in the Sports Feature category; first in Wildlife photography; and second places in Spot News, Portrait/Personality and for his photo story on wolf monitoring.

The photography staff was awarded Best Use of Photos. Dorgan’s photo of an elk head in a convertible car won Best Photo of the Year, an award that considers submissions from both weekly and daily papers.

Deputy Editor Melissa Cassutt and reporters Allie Gross, Emily Mieure and Kylie Mohr took first place in the Public Service category for their package, “Survivors Speak.”

Mohr, who covers education and health, also won first place in Miscellaneous Specialty Reporting for a package of health care stories, second in In-depth Reporting for a four-part series exploring the impact of the opioid epidemic and second in Education Reporting.

Assistant editor Tom Hallberg received two first-place awards — a blue ribbon for his feature story “Flying to furever homes,” and first place for a package of arts and entertainment stories.

Environmental reporter Mike Koshmrl was named first-place winner in the Outdoors/Environmental Reporting category and received an honorable mention in In-depth Reporting for his story “County: Club work not OK’d.”

Gross, the paper’s county reporter, won two awards for news features — a red ribbon for her story “Building houses, providing homes” and an honorable mention for her story “Cafe Genevieve, Sweetwater blocks for sale.”

Cassutt received two additional awards as well, an honorable mention for her feature “Searching for artifacts and ancestry,” and second place in the Sports Feature category for “A Lady Broncs’ place is on the wrestling mat.”

Sports Editor Clark Forster took home a blue ribbon in the Sports News category for “Support was there when Kauf needed it most,” a story reported from Pyeongchang, South Korea, at the Winter Olympics.

News&Guide columnists brought home several honors: Mountainside columnist Molly Absolon took a blue ribbon for Sports Column writing, Spitballin’ columnist Forster took second in the same category, and Common Ground columnist Paul Hansen won first in Column Writing.

News&Guide Chief Designer Andy Edwards won second-place ribbons for Front Page Design, Open Page Design and Use of Graphic Elements, and an honorable mention for an informational graphic on winemaking.

Advertising design artist Taylor-Ann Smith received an honorable mention in the Best Designed Ad category.

Audience Engagement Producer Sofia Jaramillo and Advertising Coordinator Maggie Gabruk received two first-place wins — Best Brand Promotion using Social Media for their work promoting the company’s Hole Scroll app and Best Promotion of a Story Using Social Media for the summer 2018 #jhpeakpets campaign.

The News&Guide staff received second place for Best Promotion of a Story Using Social Media for its work reporting on the Roosevelt Fire. It took first for Best Website.

Look for more on the awards, Sellett’s induction and memories of his Jackson Hole journalism days — including some side-splitting tales — in Wednesday’s Jackson Hole News&Guide.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Please turn off your CAPS LOCK.
No personal attacks. Discuss issues & opinions rather than denigrating someone with an opposing view.
No political attacks. Refrain from using negative slang when identifying political parties.
Be truthful. Don’t knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be proactive. Use the “Report” link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with us. We’d love to hear eyewitness accounts or history behind an article.
Use your real name: Anonymous commenting is not allowed.
If you share a web address, please provide context as to why you posted the link.