Course record set on Teton Pass

The 2019 Teton Pass Hill Climb crowned new cycling champions for its 6.1-kilometer race Sunday, with a new course record set as well. Chris Smithwick won the men’s title in 25 minutes, 53 seconds, five seconds ahead of Joshua Lebo in second place. The previous record belonged to Gabe Klamer at 26:05, set in 2016. Charlotte Baptiste won the women’s race in 33:33, and the junior race went to Bode Welch in 32:54.

Victor racer grabs Targhee win

The 24th Targhee Hill Climb went off Friday, with Trevor Garner, of Victor, Idaho, taking the title.

Garner covered the 12-mile, 2,200-foot climb in 42 minutes, 19 seconds. He edged Charlie Hagen, of Jackson, who finished second in 43:33.Loranne Ausley, from Tallahassee, Florida, won the women’s race in 1:08:46. Annie Mostkoff, of Tetonia, Idaho, was first in the women’s 60-plus age group in 1:30:57.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please note: Online comments may also run in our print publications.
Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Please turn off your CAPS LOCK.
No personal attacks. Discuss issues & opinions rather than denigrating someone with an opposing view.
No political attacks. Refrain from using negative slang when identifying political parties.
Be truthful. Don’t knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be proactive. Use the “Report” link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with us. We’d love to hear eyewitness accounts or history behind an article.
Use your real name: Anonymous commenting is not allowed.