Students of the Jackson Hole High School speech and debate team went to the national tournament in Dallas.

Eight Jackson Hole High School students took a trip to Dallas in June, but they weren’t on vacation.

The students — seniors Leila Sandlin and Samantha Smith, juniors Warren Levy and Maleah Tuttle, sophomore Josh Hansen and freshmen William Aepli, Virginia Girling and Anna Revill — went to the National Speech and Debate Association’s national tournament from June 16 to 21 to represent the high school’s speech and debate team. Though none of them brought home hardware, they made strong showings, coach Londe Gagnon said in a press release.

Out of 239 students, Sandlin made the top 60 in oral interpretation, becoming the first Jackson student to reach the final rounds in the event. Her program focused on high school rape and party culture and combined prose, poetry and drama.

Three students — Aepli, Hansen and Girling — were close to making the final rounds in congressional debate, in which the top six competitors from each preliminary chamber advance to the finals. Girling and Hansen were seventh and eighth, while Aepli tied for sixth but lost on a tiebreaker.

Several students went deep into preliminary rounds in their events but were unable to advance to the elimination rounds, including Levy and Tuttle in extemporaneous speaking, and Revill as part of a team from the Wind River District in world schools debate. Three students went several rounds in the informative speaking event, with Smith and Aepli making round five and Hansen making round four.

“All eight competitors represented JHHS well and worked together as a group to advance,” Gagnon said. “We look forward to the promise our young team holds.”

Nine Teton County students were named to the University of Wyoming President’s Honor Roll for the spring semester.

Regularly enrolled undergraduates land on the President’s Honor Roll if they earn a 4.0 grade point average. Students must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 credit hours to qualify.

Jackson students on the list are Katharine P. Baldwin, Brianne Beale, Elizabeth Chambers, Clara Daniele Delahaye, Colin Finlay, Riley S. Liljestrom, Abigail Laurel Shockley and Hailey Wilkinson. One student from Alta, Alexy Vada Nelson, also made the list.

Thirty-eight Teton County students were also named to the University of Wyoming Dean’s and Dean’s Freshman Honor Rolls for the spring semester.

The honor rolls consist of regularly enrolled undergraduates above freshman standing who earned a 3.4 or better grade point average, and freshmen who have earned a 3.25 or better grade point average. Students must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 credit hours to qualify.

The Jackson students on the list are Sarah E. Bentlage, Nicole Collins, Alexa E. Daugherty, Cailin Siobhan Deiter, Abigail Corrine Devine, Wyatt O. Dieckmann, Samantha J. Douville, Aliea Guomei Cavalier Ednie, Raychl D. Fairbanks, Ithzel Felipe-Castro, Caden Walker Garland, Brayden Croft Gaston, Jonah William Gocke, Lucas K. Hakoshima, Cassie M. Heikkila, Tania V. Jimenez, Mackenzie G. Kew, Connor S. Liljestrom, Quinn MacKenzie Liljestrom, Jennifer Marlene Lira, Emily R. Mahood, Regan A. Meyring, Bodi L. Morris, Xander K. Peterson, Dania B. Sinzu Prieto, Justin James Reppa, Trista Timmons, Rachel E. Tucker and Matthew J. Williams.

Other valley students on the list are Wyatt W. Christensen and Zoie Dayton, of Alta, Sunny B. Hoover and Halie McGough, of Kelly, Hayden T. Collins, of Moose, Sheridan Hannah Klock, of Teton Village, and Molly E. Pickerill, Karli Siera Swenson and Sydney Ann Wiswell, of Wilson.

Three local students were selected for inclusion on the Dean’s List for academic achievement during the spring semester at St. Lawrence University. To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must have completed at least four courses and have a grade point average of 3.6 or above.

Amelia T. Adams, of Wilson. Adams is a member of the Class of 2020 and is majoring in Asian studies-history. Adams attended Jackson Hole High School.

Tait E. Bjornsen, of Wilson. Bjornsen is a member of the Class of 2022. Bjornsen attended Jackson Hole Community School.

Emma K. Sollitt, of Wilson. Sollitt is a member of the Class of 2020 and is majoring in African studies-history. Sollitt attended Jackson Hole Community School.

St. Lawrence University is a private liberal arts college in Canton, New York.

— Tom Hallberg and Leonor Grave


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please note: Online comments may also run in our print publications.
Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Please turn off your CAPS LOCK.
No personal attacks. Discuss issues & opinions rather than denigrating someone with an opposing view.
No political attacks. Refrain from using negative slang when identifying political parties.
Be truthful. Don’t knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be proactive. Use the “Report” link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with us. We’d love to hear eyewitness accounts or history behind an article.
Use your real name: Anonymous commenting is not allowed.